Join Us!

Click here for the many benefits of Guild membership and to find out how to join.


BGAJ Award eAlert - Netherthorpe 2017

Johann Tasker
01206 263807
Johann Tasker


Netherthorpe heading NOMINATIONS DEADLINE

Thursday, August 24, 2017

Nominations are open for the Guild’s most prestigious award, the Netherthorpe, which celebrates the achievements of members in making an outstanding and sustained contribution to agricultural communications.

It is the only Guild award for which there are no self-entries: it is judged solely on nominations made by fellow Members of the Guild.

The judges will be looking for someone working as a journalist or in commercial communications who has contributed to the dissemination of knowledge and understanding about agriculture in its widest sense over a number of years.

Peter HollinsheadThis could be through the written word as a journalist, editor or PR professional, or through the scripting, production or presentation of radio and television broadcasts.

The recipient of the Netherthorpe Award will be presented with the splendid crowing cockerel bronze trophy at the Guild Harvest Lunch in London on October 12. After engraving, the trophy is put on permanent display in the bar of The Farmers Club in London.

To nominate a member for this prestigious award, visit the Netherthorpe Award page of the Guild website to see who has won this accolade in past years, consider the track record of friends and colleagues in the Guild and then complete a nominations form to put forward a worthy contender.

Awards secretary Jamie Day will acknowledge receipt of all nominations after the closing date.

Nomination form (Word docx)                    Nomination form (Word doc)

The deadline for nominations is Thursday, August 24.

BGAJ Netherthorpe Award

Recent winners (from left): Howard Walsh, Ken Fletcher, Steve Mitchell and Dei Tomos. Peter Hollinshead (above) received the award in 2016. See the Netherthorpe Award page for a complete list of recipients.


Website by Website Development Ltd