Join Us!

Click here for the many benefits of Guild membership and to find out how to join.


BGAJ Award eAlert - Stuart Seaton Award 2017

Johann Tasker
01206 263807
Johann Tasker

Stuart Seaton

Regional Newspaper & Journalist Award 2017

 Entry deadline: Friday, March 10


The search has begun for the publication and journalist that will win the Guild’s Stuart Seaton Award 2017.

BGAJ Stuart Seaton Award 2016 EDPThis coveted award celebrates high quality coverage of farming and rural affairs by regional newspapers, and the information and insight such coverage provides to farmers and the non-farming public alike.

Last year, the award was won by Eastern Daily Press and its farming editor Chris Hill. His entry drew praise from the judges for "thorough coverage of East Anglian farming and clever mix of visual style and superb writing".

Chris received a certificate commemorating his award from Guild vice-chairman Catherine Linch at the Guild's Banger'n'Beer Cereals Event reception.

BGAJ Stuart Seaton Award 2016 EDPThe Eastern Daily Press was awarded the right to publish the 'regional newspaper award winner' citation on its Farm & Country weekly supplement.

Now it's time to find a new winner from amongst the newspapers and magazines that provide local readers with news, analysis and insight into farming and the rural scene in general.

This award is open to all such publications, editors and correspondents, not just Members of the Guild.

Enter by submitting PDFs of published pages from four consecutive editions (the judges are looking for consistently high standards, not just a one-off), together with the entry form that also gives details of entry requirements. Save the completed form as a PDF and send it with the pages by the closing deadline.

Entry deadline: Friday, March 10

Entry form

Origins of this important award

The Guild's Regional Newspaper & Journalist Award was established in memory of Stuart Seaton, the highly respected founding editor of Farmers Guardian (once a regional newspaper but now a national publication). The award is supported by his family, in particular Val Chapman (Stuart’s daughter) who is one of the judges and an associate editor of a group of national magazine titles. To find out why past winners won the award, visit the Guild website.

Past winners include the Yorkshire Post (Robert Benson), Press & Journal (the late Joe Watson), Western Morning News (Peter Hall), The Farmer published by Shropshire Newspapers (Heather Jones) and The Courier (Ewan Pate).

Regional farming covers

About the Guild

The British Guild of Agricultural Journalists is a community of editors and journalists, broadcasters, photographers and PR/marketing specialists working in agriculture, commercial horticulture and other rural industries throughout Great Britain. Members work freelance and full time on specialist trade publications and regional newspapers, run their own agencies, or are employed by commercial businesses, agencies and other organisations in the rural sector.

Membership of the Guild provides a route to many opportunities: press facility trips to many countries around the World through the Guild’s international connections; prestigious national and international journalism and photography awards; low-cost training workshops for professional development; social events for networking; notification of journalism and communications jobs in the rural sector; regular news of people, publications and agencies involved in food and farming through the Guild website and monthly eAlert newsletters.

Visit the Guild website for more information or contact membership secretary Clive Rainbird for more information.

Website by Website Development Ltd