British Guild of Agricultural Journalists
International Contacts, Annual Congress Tours, Professional Development, Writing & Photo Awards, Freelance Directory
Members of the Guild are also members of...

ABP Agricultural Journalism Awards

Held for many years, the Guild's Agricultural Journalism Awards recognise the best in British agricultural journalism – both written and broadcast.

These awards are kindly sponsored by ABP, which became an enthusiastic supporter of the Guild in 2016 as lead sponsor of the annual Harvest Lunch – a role it repeated in 2017.

“The farming press and the industry’s communicators are vital to progressing UK farming, its sustainability and its innovations,” says Richard Phelps, ABP's agriculture director.

“We are delighted to renew our association with the British Guild of Agricultural Journalists and would like to wish all participants every success with these awards.”

The judging panel for these awards comprises leading industry figures and previous winners. Results are announced at the Guild's annual Harvest Lunch each autumn.

RSS Feed

ABP Agricultural Journalism Awards - Latest News


Winners announced for 2012 Agricultural Journalism Awards

Managing director Benoit Lamaison headed a Yara UK team attending the annual Harvest Lunch to celebrate the company’s annual journalism awards. There was a double win for Farmers Guardian, with editor Emma Penny winning the Grassland category award…


Winners announced for 2011 Agricultural Journalism Awards

An article exploring the controversial issue of badgers and their role in the spread of bovine tuberculosis among cattle was one of the winning entries in the Guild's 2011 Yara Journalism Awards, presented at the annual harvest lunch by Benoit…


Winners announced for 2010 Agricultural Journalism Awards

Out of a highly competitive field of entries, articles by Guild members Nancy Nicolson, Robert Harris and Philip Clarke were selected by the judging panels as winners of the Guild’s Yara-sponsored Agricultural Journalism awards for 2010. In each…


Winners announced for 2009 Agricultural Journalism Awards

The 50th edition of the Guild's Yara-sponsored Agricultural Journalism Awards were celebrated by many past winners attending the Harvest Lunch, a specially-commissioned trophy for each of the 2009 category winners and a generous increase in the…


Winners announced for 2008 Agricultural Journalism Awards

Journalists on Farmers Guardian scored a double in the Guild's Yara-sponsored journalism awards in 2008, presented by Yara managing director Tove Andersen. The runner-up in the Environment category was Steaking his claim to great food, a feature by…


Winners announced for 2007 Agricultural Journalism Awards

Guild members writing for three different national agricultural publications took the top prizes in the Guild's Yara-sponsored Agricultural Journalism Awards. They were presented at the Guild’s Harvest Lunch by Tove Andersen, managing director of…


Winners announced for 2006 Agricultural Journalism Awards

For the first time in the 47-year history of the Guild's Yara-sponsored Agricultural Journalism Awards, entrants from the same publication – Farmers Weekly – won all three categories. The awards, administered by Yara UK marketing manager Rosie…


Winners announced for 2005 Agricultural Journalism Awards

Andrew Blake's article on one farmer's approach to the Single Payment Scheme in Farmers Weekly earned him first prize in the Yara journalist awards arable section. Nancy Nicolson won the environment/rural issues section with a radio programme on…


Winners announced for 2004 Agricultural Journalism Awards

An article on Tyrrells Crisps in Farm Life earned freelance David Jones the arable section prize in the Yara journalist awards, Claire Powell's piece on a cattle health scheme on Orkney in the Press & Journal (Aberdeen) won the grassland/…


Winners announced for 2002 Agricultural Journalism Awards

This year, the Arable category winner, Crops editor Debbie Beaton, entered an article on prospects for biofuel following only a disappointingly small reduction in excise duty. Debbie is pictured above after receiving her prize from Hydro Agri…



Johann Tasker

01206 263807


Join Us!

Click here to view Guild membership benefits and to find out how to join.

Guild News

Click here for the latest news.