British Guild of Agricultural Journalists
International Contacts, Annual Congress Tours, Professional Development, Writing & Photo Awards, Freelance Directory
Members of the Guild are also members of...

2019 Netherthorpe award opens for nominations

Published on 9th August 2019

Nominations are open for the 2019 Netherthorpe Communicator of the Year Award – the Guild’s most prestigious accolade which recognises members who have made an outstanding and sustained contribution to agricultural communications.

The Netherthorpe is the only Guild award for which there are no self-entries: it is judged solely on nominations made by fellow Guild members.

Judges are looking for someone working as a journalist or in commercial communications who has contributed to the dissemination of knowledge and understanding about agriculture in its widest sense over a number of years.

This could be through the written word as a journalist, editor or PR professional, or through the scripting, production or presentation of radio and television broadcasts.

The recipient of the Netherthorpe award will be presented with the splendid crowing cockerel bronze trophy at the Guild Harvest Lunch in London on 17 October 2019.

After engraving, the trophy is put on permanent display in the bar of the Farmers Club in London.

You can read about previous winners of the Netherthorpe award here.

To nominate a member for the 2019 Netherthorpe Award, please complete the nomination form which can be downloaded as a Word Document or as a PDF.

Please send completed nominations to deputy awards secretary Olivia Midgley by Friday, 13 September 2019.

All nominations will be acknowledged.

Our photo shows 2018 Netherthorpe award recipient Ewan Pate (right), receiving the award from Guild President Lord Curry of Kirkharle at the 2018 Harvest Lunch.


Johann Tasker

01206 263807


Join Us!

Click here to view Guild membership benefits and to find out how to join.

Guild News

Click here for the latest news.