British Guild of Agricultural Journalists
International Contacts, Annual Congress Tours, Professional Development, Writing & Photo Awards, Freelance Directory
Members of the Guild are also members of...

Who deserves the 2021 Netherthorpe accolade?

Published on 19th July 2021

Nominations are open for the 2021 Netherthorpe Communicator of the Year Award – the Guild’s most prestigious accolade which recognises members who have made an outstanding and sustained contribution to agricultural communications.

The Netherthorpe is the only Guild award for which there are no self-entries: it is judged solely on nominations made by fellow Guild members.

Judges are looking for someone working as a journalist or in commercial communications who has contributed to the dissemination of knowledge and understanding about agriculture in its widest sense over a number of years.

This could be through the written word as a journalist, editor or PR professional, or through the scripting, production or presentation of radio and television broadcasts.

Last year’s winner was machinery and technology journalist Michael Williams. See his reaction to winning the award below.

The recipient of the Netherthorpe award will be presented with the splendid crowing cockerel bronze trophy at the Guild’s Harvest event in London on October 7.

After engraving, the trophy is put on permanent display in the bar of the Farmers Club in London.

To nominate a member for the 2021 Netherthorpe Award, please complete the nomination form which can be downloaded here.

Please send completed nominations to awards secretary Olivia Midgley by Friday August 27 2021.



Olivia Midgley


Join Us!

Click here to view Guild membership benefits and to find out how to join.

Guild News

Click here for the latest news.