British Guild of Agricultural Journalists
International Contacts, Annual Congress Tours, Professional Development, Writing & Photo Awards, Freelance Directory
Members of the Guild are also members of...

Netherthorpe Communicator of the Year Award

Often referred to simply as "the Netherthorpe", the Guild's Communicator of the Year Award is our highest and most prestigious accolade.

The Netherthorpe's perpetual "crowing cockerel" trophy – displayed at The Farmers Club – is presented annually to the Guild Member who has made an outstanding and sustained contribution to agricultural communications.

It is judged from nominations made by Members who identify someone who has contributed to the dissemination of knowledge and understanding about agriculture, in its widest sense, over a number of years. 

This can have been by the written word or through editing, by production or presentation on radio and television. It is open to press and public relations members of the Guild, as well as journalists, editors and photographers.

RSS Feed

Latest Netherthorpe Award News


Ewan Pate receives 2018 Netherthorpe Award

Respected Scottish journalist Ewan Pate has won the 2017 Netherthorpe Communicator of the Year Award. This award is made annually to the Guild member who has made an outstanding and sustained contribution to agricultural communications. It is…


2018 Netherthorpe award opens for entries

Nominations are open for the 2018 Netherthorpe Communicator of the Year Award – the Guild’s most prestigious accolade which recognises members who have made an outstanding and sustained contribution to agricultural communications. The…


Alan Stennett receives 2017 Netherthorpe Award

Lincolnshire broadcaster and author Alan Stennett received the 2017 Netherthorpe Communicator of the Year Award for his outstanding and sustained contribution to agricultural journalism. The highest accolade awarded by the British Guild of…


Peter Hollinshead receives 2016 Netherthorpe Award

Peter Hollinshead, the winner of the Guild's Netherthorpe Award in 2016, has spent most of his working life as an agricultural journalist. During that time, he has earned a reputation as a skilled and tenacious operator with an incisive line of…


Dei Tomos receives 2015 Netherthorpe Award

The 2015 recipient of the Netherthorpe Award has been the voice of farming news in Wales for more than 30 years. Dei Tomos is an acclaimed broadcaster and journalist, who has never lost his zest for rooting out the ‘real’ story behind the spin. He…


Steve Mitchell receives 2014 Netherthorpe Award

The 2014 recipient of the Netherthorpe Award trophy is Steve Mitchell, PR practitioner and former staff journalist, and of particular relevance to this accolade, the long-time organiser of the Guild's John Deere Training Award and its intensive…


Ken Fletcher receives 2013 Netherthorpe Award

The 2013 winner of the Guild's Netherthorpe Award, Ken Fletcher, deputy and technical editor of The Scottish Farmer, is described by Guild chairman Jane Craigie as a warm and charismatic agricultural journalist and an ambassador for farming. He…


David Cousins and Andrew Arbuckle win 2012 Netherthorpe

The most prestigious award made by the British Guild of Agricultural Journalists was presented jointly to two stalwarts of the industry – Andrew Arbuckle, rural editor on The Scotsman; and David Cousins, machinery editor of Farmers Weekly. Andrew…


Howard Walsh wins 2011 Netherthorpe Award

Howard Walsh, Farmers Guardian business and former machinery editor, is this year’s recipient of the Guild’s most prestigious award, The Netherthorpe, which celebrates the achievements of members in making an outstanding and sustained contribution…


Ross Muir wins Netherthorpe Award

The Guild’s most prestigious award, the Netherthorpe Communicator of the Year, has been presented for 2010 to press and PR consultant Ross Muir. Speaking after the national annual meeting, where he recieved the crowing cockerel trophy kept on…



Johann Tasker

01206 263807


Join Us!

Click here to view Guild membership benefits and to find out how to join.

Guild News

Click here for the latest news.