British Guild of Agricultural Journalists
International Contacts, Annual Congress Tours, Professional Development, Writing & Photo Awards, Freelance Directory
Members of the Guild are also members of...

Netherthorpe Communicator of the Year Award

Often referred to simply as "the Netherthorpe", the Guild's Communicator of the Year Award is our highest and most prestigious accolade.

The Netherthorpe's perpetual "crowing cockerel" trophy – displayed at The Farmers Club – is presented annually to the Guild Member who has made an outstanding and sustained contribution to agricultural communications.

It is judged from nominations made by Members who identify someone who has contributed to the dissemination of knowledge and understanding about agriculture, in its widest sense, over a number of years. 

This can have been by the written word or through editing, by production or presentation on radio and television. It is open to press and public relations members of the Guild, as well as journalists, editors and photographers.

RSS Feed

Latest Netherthorpe Award News


Ken Fletcher receives 2013 Netherthorpe Award

The 2013 winner of the Guild's Netherthorpe Award, Ken Fletcher, deputy and technical editor of The Scottish Farmer, is described by Guild chairman Jane Craigie as a warm and charismatic agricultural journalist and an ambassador for farming. He…


David Cousins and Andrew Arbuckle win 2012 Netherthorpe

The most prestigious award made by the British Guild of Agricultural Journalists was presented jointly to two stalwarts of the industry – Andrew Arbuckle, rural editor on The Scotsman; and David Cousins, machinery editor of Farmers Weekly. Andrew…


Howard Walsh wins 2011 Netherthorpe Award

Howard Walsh, Farmers Guardian business and former machinery editor, is this year’s recipient of the Guild’s most prestigious award, The Netherthorpe, which celebrates the achievements of members in making an outstanding and sustained contribution…


Ross Muir wins Netherthorpe Award

The Guild’s most prestigious award, the Netherthorpe Communicator of the Year, has been presented for 2010 to press and PR consultant Ross Muir. Speaking after the national annual meeting, where he recieved the crowing cockerel trophy kept on…


Ross Muir wins 2010 Netherthorpe Award

The Guild’s Netherthorpe Communicator of the Year award for 2010 was presented press and PR consultant Ross Muir, who said: “I am honoured and privileged to receive this award after more than forty years in the agri-communications business.”…


Ken Rundle wins 2009 Netherthorpe Award

The Guild’s 2009 Netherthorpe Award, for consistent excellence in agricultural communications, was presented at the Royal Show awards party to Guild member Ken Rundle, who earlier is the year gained similar recognition by way of the inaugural…


Bill Howatson receives 2008 Netherthorpe Award

Scottish freelance journalist Bill Howatson won the 2008 Netherthorpe Award in recognition of his near 30-year record communicating to farming and lay audiences through a number of Scottish newspapers. Bill was chosen from six nominations made by…


Don Gomery receives 2007 Netherthorpe Award

The Guild's honorary general secretary, Don Gomery, was the surprised and delighted recipient of the Netherthorpe 'Communicator of the Year' award, presented at the Royal Show. The Netherthorpe is the Guild’s most prestigious award, as it is made…


Guy Smith wins 2006 Netherthorpe Award

The Guild's Netherthorpe Award was presented to Essex farmer and Guild member Guy Smith for his informative and often controversial writing, including a regular Smith's Soapbox column in Arable Farming and, in particular, his efforts to promote…


Stephen Howe wins 2005 Netherthorpe Award

The Guild's Netherthorpe Award was presented to Stephen Howe in the year he stepped down as editor of Farmers Weekly. Stephen Howe, former Farmers Weekly editor, receives the Guild's Netherthorpe Award for 'Communicator of the Year 2005' from…



Johann Tasker

01206 263807


Join Us!

Click here to view Guild membership benefits and to find out how to join.

Guild News

Click here for the latest news.