British Guild of Agricultural Journalists
International Contacts, Annual Congress Tours, Professional Development, Writing & Photo Awards, Freelance Directory
Members of the Guild are also members of...

Netherthorpe Communicator of the Year Award

Often referred to simply as "the Netherthorpe", the Guild's Communicator of the Year Award is our highest and most prestigious accolade.

The Netherthorpe's perpetual "crowing cockerel" trophy – displayed at The Farmers Club – is presented annually to the Guild Member who has made an outstanding and sustained contribution to agricultural communications.

It is judged from nominations made by Members who identify someone who has contributed to the dissemination of knowledge and understanding about agriculture, in its widest sense, over a number of years. 

This can have been by the written word or through editing, by production or presentation on radio and television. It is open to press and public relations members of the Guild, as well as journalists, editors and photographers.

RSS Feed

Latest Netherthorpe Award News


Debbie Beaton wins 2004 Netherthorpe Award

Debbie Beaton was selected to receive the Netherthorpe Award for her influential period as editor of Crops magazine. Guild President Hazel Byford (left), presents the Guild's Netherthorpe Award for 'Communicator of the Year 2004' to Debbie Beaton…



Johann Tasker

01206 263807


Join Us!

Click here to view Guild membership benefits and to find out how to join.

Guild News

Click here for the latest news.