British Guild of Agricultural Journalists
International Contacts, Annual Congress Tours, Professional Development, Writing & Photo Awards, Freelance Directory
Members of the Guild are also members of...

Latest News

Please click on the headlines below to view the full article.

RSS Feed

Latest News


Claire Powell named 2005 IFAJ Star Prize runner-up

The Star Prize journalism runner-up award was presented to Claire Powell, whose Press & Journalarticle covered a new cattle health scheme on the Orkneys.


Winners unveiled for 2005 Perkins Power on the Farm Award

Andrew Faulkner of Profi International won the 2005 Perkins 'Power Award' for an article investigating the costs and benefits of using the Vaderstad TopDown cultivator, while freelance Peter Hill received the runner-up price for an article in…


Winners announced for 2005 Agricultural Journalism Awards

Andrew Blake's article on one farmer's approach to the Single Payment Scheme in Farmers Weekly earned him first prize in the Yara journalist awards arable section. Nancy Nicolson won the environment/rural issues section with a radio programme on…


Winners unveiled for 2004 Perkins Power on the Farm Award

Julian Gairdner's article on biofuels in Crops earned him the top Perkins 'Power Award' prize, with Andrew Faulkner earning his runner-up prize with a piece assessing the Simba Solo heavy duty stubble cultivator published in Profi International.…


Winners announced for 2004 Agricultural Journalism Awards

An article on Tyrrells Crisps in Farm Life earned freelance David Jones the arable section prize in the Yara journalist awards, Claire Powell's piece on a cattle health scheme on Orkney in the Press & Journal (Aberdeen) won the grassland/…


Debbie Beaton wins 2004 Netherthorpe Award

Debbie Beaton was selected to receive the Netherthorpe Award for her influential period as editor of Crops magazine. Guild President Hazel Byford (left), presents the Guild's Netherthorpe Award for 'Communicator of the Year 2004' to Debbie Beaton…


Winners announced for 2002 Agricultural Journalism Awards

This year, the Arable category winner, Crops editor Debbie Beaton, entered an article on prospects for biofuel following only a disappointingly small reduction in excise duty. Debbie is pictured above after receiving her prize from Hydro Agri…


Winners announced for 2001 Agricultural Journalism Awards

Winners of the 2001 Hydro Agri journalism awards (from left) Edward Hart, who took the Environment category for an article on hefted sheep in Country Illustrated; Carol Trewin, whose article on badgers and bovine TB in Western Morning News secured…



Ben Pike


Join Us!

Click here to view Guild membership benefits and to find out how to join.

Guild News

Click here for the latest news.