British Guild of Agricultural Journalists
International Contacts, Annual Congress Tours, Professional Development, Writing & Photo Awards, Freelance Directory
Members of the Guild are also members of...

Stuart Seaton Regional Newspaper & Journalist Award

Established in memory of Stuart Seaton, the founding editor of Farmers Guardian, the Stuart Seaton Regional Newspaper & Journalist Award recognises regional newspapers that devote some of their pages to coverage of farming and rural affairs.

These publications – and their dedicated magazines and supplements – play an important role informing the general public as well as farmers about agriculture and the land-based industries.

Farmers Guardian was itself a regional newspaper before becoming a national weekly. This award is supported by Stuart Seaton's family and his daughter Val Chapman is one of the judges.

The winning publication receives a framed certificate and the right to carry a message indicating it is the 'Regional Farming Newspaper / Magazine of the Year' as judged by the British Guild of Agricultural Journalists.

The farming/rural affairs correspondent of the winning publication also receives a framed certificate presented at a Guild event.

Unlike most of the Guild's awards, the regional newspaper/magazine and journalist award is open to all farming and rural affairs correspondents; entrants do not have to be members of the Guild. Entries can be made by the correspondent or by the newspaper’s editor on their behalf.

RSS Feed

Latest news:


Joe Watson wins 2013 Stuart Seaton Award

One of the judges of this year's Stuart Seaton Award for farming coverage in a regional newspaper describes the winner as "an assured writer who writes with authority for his audience; his leader on Tesco shows real understanding of the subject…


Heather Jones wins 2012 Stuart Seaton Award

The winners of the Guild's 2012 regional farming journalism award is The Farmer, a monthly published in the West Midlands by The Shropshire Star, and its editor, Guild member Heather Jones. Heather, who is editor of The Farmer, received the winning…


Peter Hall wins 2010 Stuart Seaton Award

Guild member Peter Hall was the delighted recipient of a certificate naming him regional farming/rural affairs correspondent of 2010. Peter (above right), who received his award from Guild president Lord Cameron of Dillington at the annual…


Joe Watson wins 2009 Stuart Seaton Award

The Guild's Stuart Seaton Award for regional papers and their agricultural / rural journalists was presented at the AgriLIVE Smithfield event. The award was open to non-members of the Guild for the frst time to give regional correspondents the…


Bob Benson receives 2008 Stuart Seaton Award

The strong entry for this renewed award, which celebrates coverage of agricultural and rural topics in regional newspapers, included the majority of Guild members working as regional journalists. It gave the judges - Guild president the Countess of…



Johann Tasker

01206 263807


Join Us!

Click here to view Guild membership benefits and to find out how to join.

Guild News

Click here for the latest news.