British Guild of Agricultural Journalists
International Contacts, Annual Congress Tours, Professional Development, Writing & Photo Awards, Freelance Directory
Members of the Guild are also members of...

Stuart Seaton Regional Newspaper & Journalist Award

Established in memory of Stuart Seaton, the founding editor of Farmers Guardian, the Stuart Seaton Regional Newspaper & Journalist Award recognises regional newspapers that devote some of their pages to coverage of farming and rural affairs.

These publications – and their dedicated magazines and supplements – play an important role informing the general public as well as farmers about agriculture and the land-based industries.

Farmers Guardian was itself a regional newspaper before becoming a national weekly. This award is supported by Stuart Seaton's family and his daughter Val Chapman is one of the judges.

The winning publication receives a framed certificate and the right to carry a message indicating it is the 'Regional Farming Newspaper / Magazine of the Year' as judged by the British Guild of Agricultural Journalists.

The farming/rural affairs correspondent of the winning publication also receives a framed certificate presented at a Guild event.

Unlike most of the Guild's awards, the regional newspaper/magazine and journalist award is open to all farming and rural affairs correspondents; entrants do not have to be members of the Guild. Entries can be made by the correspondent or by the newspaper’s editor on their behalf.

RSS Feed

Latest news:


Winner announced for 2018 Stuart Seaton Award

The 2018 Stuart Seaton Regional Newspaper and Journalist Award has been won by the Cumberland News and farming editor Maureen Hodges. This award is made annually in memory of former Farmers Guardian editor Stuart Seaton, whose daughter is one of…


2018 Stuart Seaton Award opens for entries

Entries have opened for the Guild’s 2018 Stuart Seaton Award – which celebrates high quality coverage of farming and rural affairs by regional newspapers. The award – which is made jointly to a journalist and their publication – recognises the…


Two in a row as Chris Hill wins 2017 Stuart Seaton Award

The 2017 Stuart Seaton Regional Journalist and Newspaper Award is made in memory of former Farmers Guardian editor Stuart Seaton. The 2017 winner is Chris Hill of the Eastern Daily Press, based in Norwich. Pictured above with Guild Deputy…


Chris Hill wins 2016 Stuart Seaton Award

The 2016 Stuart Seaton Award was won by Eastern Daily Press and its farming editor Chris Hill. His entry drew praise from the judges for "thorough coverage of East Anglian farming and a clever mix of visual style and superb writing". Chris…


Ewan Pate and The Courier win 2015 Stuart Seaton Award

An engaging writing style and informative features saw Ewan Pate and The Courier win the 2015 Stuart Seaton Regional Newspaper and Journalist Award. Guild chairman Ben Briggs (above left) presented Ewan (above right) with the award at the Royal…


Awards presented at 2015 Royal Highland Show

A well-attended 'Guild Party' at the Royal Highland Show saw Guild Member Ewan Pate and The Courier presented with the Stuart Seaton Regional Newspaper and Journalist Award. Once again organised by Eddie and Marion Gillanders, the generous…


Joe Watson and Press & Journal win 2014 Stuart Seaton Award

The Stuart Seaton Award was won for the second successive year and for the third time by the Press & Journal and its farming editor, the late Joe Watson, in 2014. The award was made for the Aberdeen-based newspaper's daily coverage of…


Joe Watson wins 2013 Stuart Seaton Award

One of the judges of this year's Stuart Seaton Award for farming coverage in a regional newspaper describes the winner as "an assured writer who writes with authority for his audience; his leader on Tesco shows real understanding of the subject…


Heather Jones wins 2012 Stuart Seaton Award

The winners of the Guild's 2012 regional farming journalism award is The Farmer, a monthly published in the West Midlands by The Shropshire Star, and its editor, Guild member Heather Jones. Heather, who is editor of The Farmer, received the winning…


Peter Hall wins 2010 Stuart Seaton Award

Guild member Peter Hall was the delighted recipient of a certificate naming him regional farming/rural affairs correspondent of 2010. Peter (above right), who received his award from Guild president Lord Cameron of Dillington at the annual…



Johann Tasker

01206 263807


Join Us!

Click here to view Guild membership benefits and to find out how to join.

Guild News

Click here for the latest news.