British Guild of Agricultural Journalists
International Contacts, Annual Congress Tours, Professional Development, Writing & Photo Awards, Freelance Directory
Members of the Guild are also members of...

2018 Netherthorpe award opens for entries

Published on 13th August 2018

Nominations are open for the 2018 Netherthorpe Communicator of the Year Award – the Guild’s most prestigious accolade which recognises members who have made an outstanding and sustained contribution to agricultural communications.

The Netherthorpe is the only Guild award for which there are no self-entries: it is judged solely on nominations made by fellow Guild members.

Judges are looking for someone working as a journalist or in commercial communications who has contributed to the dissemination of knowledge and understanding about agriculture in its widest sense over a number of years.

This could be through the written word as a journalist, editor or PR professional, or through the scripting, production or presentation of radio and television broadcasts.

The recipient of the Netherthorpe award will be presented with the splendid crowing cockerel bronze trophy at the Guild Harvest Lunch in London on 11 October 2018.

After engraving, the trophy is put on permanent display in the bar of the Farmers Club in London.

You can read about previous winners of the Netherthorpe award here.

To nominate a member for the 2018 Netherthorpe Award, please complete the nomination form which can be downloaded as a Word document or as a PDF document.

Please send completed nominations to awards secretary Jamie Day by Friday, 14 September 2018.

All nominations will be acknowledged.

Our photo shows 2015 Netherthorpe winner Dei Tomas (right), receiving the crowing cockerel trophy from Professor Matt Lobley.


Join Us!

Click here to view Guild membership benefits and to find out how to join.

Guild News

Click here for the latest news.