Skip to main content

2020 Stuart Seaton Award opens

By 6th April 2020July 27th, 2023No Comments


Entries have opened for the Guild’s 2020 Stuart Seaton Award – which celebrates high quality coverage of farming and rural affairs by regional newspapers.

The award – which is made jointly to a journalist and their publication – recognises the information and insight such coverage provides to farmers and the non-farming public alike.

Last year, the award was won by Aberdeenshire Press and Journal farming editor Gemma Mackenzie, with judges praising her voracious appetite for delivering copious quality content day in day out and her in depth knowledge of the sector – both technical and political – and her enthusiasm to pursue.

Gemma received a certificate commemorating the award, while the Press and Journal earned the right to publish the ‘regional newspaper award winner’ citation on its masthead.

Attention now turns to finding a 2020 winner from amongst the newspapers and magazines that provide local readers with news, analysis and insight into farming and the rural scene in general.

This Stuart Seaton Award is open to all such publications, editors and correspondents, not just Guild Members.

How to enter:

Complete an Entry Form for 2020 Stuart Seaton Award which also gives details of entry requirements.

You must also submit PDFs of published pages from four consecutive editions – judges are looking for consistently high standards, not just a one-off.

Save the completed form as a PDF and email it with PDF pages to award co-ordinator Olivia Midgley

Deadline for entries: 29 May 2020

The Guild’s Regional Newspaper & Journalist Award was established in memory of Stuart Seaton, the highly respected founding editor of Farmers Guardian, once a regional newspaper but now a national publication.

The award is supported by Stuart’s family, Val Chapman (Stuart’s daughter) who is one of the judges and an associate editor of a group of national magazine titles.

Past winners include the Eastern Daily Press (Chris Hill); the Yorkshire Post (Robert Benson); Press and Journal (the late Joe Watson); Western Morning News (Peter Hall); The Farmer published by Shropshire Newspapers (Heather Jones); and The Courier (Ewan Pate).