Skip to main content

Guild’s 2020 IAgrE Award is open for entries

By 13th May 2020March 28th, 2024No Comments
AwardsIAgrE AwardNews

A £1,000 prize fund is on offer for the best articles or broadcasts highlighting the vital role of engineering in modern food and energy production.

The Guild’s IAgrE Award is generously sponsored by the Institution of Agricultural Engineers – the professional body for engineers, scientists, technologists and managers in the land-based sector.

The award is open to articles or broadcasts by Guild members covering topics in the agriculture, horticulture, forestry, amenity or rural environment sectors.

Entries are limited to one per member reporting on engineering – in all its forms – published between 1 March 2019 and 29 February 2020.

The overall winner will receive a commemorative plaque and £750. The runner-up will receive a commemorative plaque and £250.

Prizes will be presented via an online presentation in June.

The winner of the 2019 award was James Andrews for his feature published in Farmers Weekly on How to secure longer-lasting point and tine metal, described as “a very well written and engaging article about a subject that is relatively dry”.

Runner-up was Jane Carley for her Arable Farming piece on Bespoke precision kit with open source, which the judges felt was “clear and concise in showing an alternative approach for farmers”.

To enter the Guild’s 2020 IAgrE Award, email one scanned copy or PDF of a published article to IAgrE communications  officer and award administrator Marion King no later than Friday, May 29, 2020.

Marion’s email address is Please email Marion for details of how to submit a broadcast as an award entry.