Skip to main content

Photography Awards 2023

By 16th August 2023September 19th, 2023No Comments


The Guild’s Photography Awards are now open for entries from members who are either full-time professional photographers or who take photographs as part of their work.

Images can also be nominated by editors/clients on behalf of a member.

The awards recognise excellence in the composition, content and technical aspects of photographing agricultural and other rural subjects.

There are three categories: Livestock, Arable and Environment/Sustainability.

Members can enter one image per category.

A panel of three judges will select a winner and runner-up for each category, with prize money of £200 paid to each winner and £100 to each runner-up.

The Environment/Sustainability category was new for 2021. Photos can capture a range of subjects, from on-farm wildflower margins to wildlife habitats, renewable energy schemes or regenerative farming.

What the judges looking for? 

Impact and storytelling, creativity and style, composition, correct use of light and colour balance. The image should show technical excellence – posing, lighting, composition, ISO choice, lens choice and exposure should all be considered.

How to enter

  • The photo must have been published in print or online from July 31, 2022 to August 1, 2023.
  • Entries can include images published as part of paid-for commercial material, for example in an agricultural company’s marketing collateral.
  • Entries will be judged by an expert panel agreed by the Guild.

Entries should be emailed to Guild awards secretary Olivia Midgley ( by Monday, September 11, 2023 with the following information:

  • Entrant’s name and telephone number
  • Where and when the image was published
  • A title or description of the content