British Guild of Agricultural Journalists
International Contacts, Annual Congress Tours, Professional Development, Writing & Photo Awards, Freelance Directory
Members of the Guild are also members of...

Latest News

Please click on the headlines below to view the full article.

RSS Feed

Latest News


Guy Smith wins 2006 Netherthorpe Award

The Guild's Netherthorpe Award was presented to Essex farmer and Guild member Guy Smith for his informative and often controversial writing, including a regular Smith's Soapbox column in Arable Farming and, in particular, his efforts to promote…


Winners announced for 2006 Agricultural Journalism Awards

For the first time in the 47-year history of the Guild's Yara-sponsored Agricultural Journalism Awards, entrants from the same publication – Farmers Weekly – won all three categories. The awards, administered by Yara UK marketing manager Rosie…


Stephen Howe wins 2005 Netherthorpe Award

The Guild's Netherthorpe Award was presented to Stephen Howe in the year he stepped down as editor of Farmers Weekly. Stephen Howe, former Farmers Weekly editor, receives the Guild's Netherthorpe Award for 'Communicator of the Year 2005' from…


Claire Powell named 2005 IFAJ Star Prize runner-up

The Star Prize journalism runner-up award was presented to Claire Powell, whose Press & Journalarticle covered a new cattle health scheme on the Orkneys.


Winners unveiled for 2005 Perkins Power on the Farm Award

Andrew Faulkner of Profi International won the 2005 Perkins 'Power Award' for an article investigating the costs and benefits of using the Vaderstad TopDown cultivator, while freelance Peter Hill received the runner-up price for an article in…


Winners announced for 2005 Agricultural Journalism Awards

Andrew Blake's article on one farmer's approach to the Single Payment Scheme in Farmers Weekly earned him first prize in the Yara journalist awards arable section. Nancy Nicolson won the environment/rural issues section with a radio programme on…


Winners unveiled for 2004 Perkins Power on the Farm Award

Julian Gairdner's article on biofuels in Crops earned him the top Perkins 'Power Award' prize, with Andrew Faulkner earning his runner-up prize with a piece assessing the Simba Solo heavy duty stubble cultivator published in Profi International.…


Winners announced for 2004 Agricultural Journalism Awards

An article on Tyrrells Crisps in Farm Life earned freelance David Jones the arable section prize in the Yara journalist awards, Claire Powell's piece on a cattle health scheme on Orkney in the Press & Journal (Aberdeen) won the grassland/…


Debbie Beaton wins 2004 Netherthorpe Award

Debbie Beaton was selected to receive the Netherthorpe Award for her influential period as editor of Crops magazine. Guild President Hazel Byford (left), presents the Guild's Netherthorpe Award for 'Communicator of the Year 2004' to Debbie Beaton…


Winners announced for 2002 Agricultural Journalism Awards

This year, the Arable category winner, Crops editor Debbie Beaton, entered an article on prospects for biofuel following only a disappointingly small reduction in excise duty. Debbie is pictured above after receiving her prize from Hydro Agri…



Nikki Robertson

07584 022909


Join Us!

Click here to view Guild membership benefits and to find out how to join.

Guild News

Click here for the latest news.